Nebraska Homeschool Attendance Ages: Students between 6 and 18 are required to attend school in Nebraska. Parents may exempt a child under seven for one year by filing a notarized statement with the local school district. Parents may graduate a child whenever he or she completes the homeschool’s program of instruction, or may exempt a child from attendance after his or her sixteenth birthday by signing a notarized release form.
Nebraska Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: 1,032 hours (elementary), 1,080 hours (high school).
Nebraska Required Subjects: Language arts, math, science, social studies, and health are all required subjects high school students in Nebraska must take.
Alternative Statutes Allowing for Home Schools:
Any private, denominational or parochial school may elect not to meet state accreditation or approval requirements. A home school is considered a private school. Parents may assert either religious or non-religious objections to state requirements, but the state has one set of rules and forms for nonreligious objections and another for religious objections.
Homeschools are referred to as exempt schools and are considered non-approved or non-accredited schools. By filing for and receiving exempt status, parents are electing not to have their child attend a school that meets State approval and accreditation requirements.
Rule 12 [for non-religious reasons]
Rule 12 affidavits state that the requirements for school approval and accreditation required by law interfere with the decisions of the parents or legal guardians in directing their child's education.
Rule 13 [for religious reasons]
Rule 13 affidavits state that the requirements for school approval and accreditation required by law violate the parents' or legal guardians' sincerely held religious beliefs.
To operate a home school under Rule 12 or Rule 13, parents must annually file the following:
a. “Parent or Guardian Form” (Form A) - Each of the parents must sign (and file) a separate notarized “Parent or Guardian Form” (Form A).
i. This form requires parents to state under oath that requirements for approval and accreditation either interfere with the decisions in directing my child’s education (Rule
12) or violate sincerely held religious beliefs of the parents or legal guardians (Rule 13).
ii. The form requires parents to affirm under oath that a program of sequential instruction in language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, and health is being provided. Parents must also affirm that they are satisfied that the individuals monitoring instruction in the school are qualified to monitor instruction in these skills. Parents filing under Rule 12 must also affirm that they understand that their school must comply with the vaccination requirements of Neb.
b. “Parent Representative Form” (Form B) - Some adult (usually but not necessarily a parent) must annually also file a notarized “Parent Representative Form” (Form B). The Parent Representative must affirmatively accept certain legal duties pursuant to Neb. and Rule 12 or 13, respectively. This includes the duty to submit information on student enrollment and attendance, monitors, and the sequential program of instruction.
c. Information Summary - The Parent Representative must also file an Information Summary (supplemental sheet to Form B) prior to the date that the home school begins operation and annually thereafter by July 15. This must include the following:
i. A calendar for the school year indicating a minimum instruction of 1,080 hours in secondary schools and 1,032 hours in elementary schools. (For a home school, this can be a very general statement of when the school term begins and ends.)
ii. A list of all “instructional monitors” in the home school (typically the parents); including name, address, age, highest level of education completed, names of educational institutions attended and the specific years attended, and a summary of prior teaching experience.
iii. A scope and sequence for each grade level.
2. Upon enrollment of a child’s first year of home education, a certified copy of the child’s birth certificate (or other proof as allowed by law) must be submitted to the Nebraska Department of Education.
3. Children are excused from compulsory attendance whenever they complete the program of instruction offered by their home school. Parents may report a child’s completion of high school by submitting Form D to the Commissioner of Education. Alternatively, parents may discontinue the enrollment of a child who is 16 years of age, but not yet 18, by submitting Form C. Forms C and D can be obtained from the local school district or Department of Education.
Teacher Qualifications: None, unless the home school teacher is “employed” by the family.
Standardized Tests: The State Board, in its discretion, has chosen not to require testing or visitation.