Missouri Homeschool Attendance Ages: Students between 7 and 17 are required to attend school in Missouri. At the parent's option, students the complete 16 statutory credits toward high school graduation are not required to attend school. If a five- or six-year-old is enrolled in public school, he becomes subject to mandatory attendance immediately until the parents request in writing that he be dropped from the school’s attendance.
Missouri Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: 1,000 hours of instruction. At least 600 of these hours must be in the five core subjects below. At least 400 of the 600 must occur at the regular home school location. These requirements must be met within the school term (12 months or less) that the parents establish. Not required for a student who has reached his sixteenth birthday.
Missouri Required Subjects:
Reading, math, social studies, language arts, and science. These subject areas (including academic courses related to them) are not individually required, but must collectively make up at least 600 hours of the child’s instruction.
The subjects require is not required for a student who has reached his sixteenth birthday.
Home School Laws and Regulations
Home schools must meet the following additional requirements:
1. A home school is defined as a school that’s primary purpose is private or religious instruction-based education. Enrolled students must be between the ages of 7 and 16 years old. The homeschool cannot charge or receive tuition, fees, or other compensation for their services.
2. Home schools must maintain (but do not need to submit) the following records:
a. A plan book, diary, or other record indicating subjects taught and activities engaged in (an appropriate daily log could satisfy this requirement)
b. A portfolio of samples of child’s academic work or other written credible evidence,
c. A record of evaluations of the child’s academic progress;
d. Other written, credible evidence equivalent
Parents have the option to follow: a, b, and c, or they can choose to follow only d) which permits more flexibility.
3. When a student reaches their 16th birthday, they are exempt from all the above requirements and also exempt from the requirement that they receive 1,000 hours of instruction. Between the student’s 16th birthday and the automatic end of mandatory attendance on his 17th birthday, the only applicable requirement is that they be enrolled in a program of academic instruction that meets requirement #1 above.
4. For the purpose of minimizing unnecessary investigations, parents may provide to the recorder of deeds of the county where the child legally resides, or to the chief school officer of the public school district where the child legally resides, a signed, written declaration of enrollment stating their intent to home school within thirty days after establishment of the home school and on Sept. 1 each year thereafter. Filing is strictly optional. Filing may compromise the family’s privacy because the information is open to the public. Filing has occasionally caused a family to be investigated.
5. Nothing in this section shall require a home school to include in its curriculum any concept, topic, or practice in conflict with the school’s religious doctrines.
6. Log defense. The production by a parent of a daily log showing that a home school has a course of instruction which satisfies the requirements of this section can be used as a defense to any prosecution under this section and to any charge or action for educational neglect.
Special St. Louis provision: production of a simple letter stating that the pupil is being homeschooled in compliance with the law is a defense if the pupil has reached their 16th birthday and lived in the city of St. Louis the previous year.
7. Statutory credit. This new type of credit serves only one purpose: as a tool for giving families the option of exempting their child from mandaotry attendance law before their 17th birthday. Since this new type of credit was created by statute, it is referred to as a “statutory credit.” A statutory credit consists of 100 hours of instruction or more in a course that will count toward graduation. Homeschoolers are required to keep track of statutory credits only if they want to be eligible for exemption from compulsory attendance before the child’s 17th birthday. Statutory credits are generally not used for preparing a transcript for submission to colleges, employers, etc.
Missouri Homeschool Teacher Qualifications: There are no homeschool teacher qualifications in Missouri.
Missouri Homeschool Standardized Tests: There are no homeschool standardized tests in Missouri.