Iowa Homeschool Attendance Ages: Age 6 as of September 15 and less than 16 are required to attend school in Iowa. Students that turn 16 on or after Sept. 15 while enrolled in a public or accredited private school are still required to attend school.
Iowa Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: 148 days total, 37 per school quarter.
Iowa Required Subjects: Iowa has no subject requirements if supervised by a certificed teacher. If under the annual assessment option, assessments are required beginning the year the child is 7 on Sept. 15 (or their first year of homeschooling, if older). Beginning with the year the student is age 8 on Sept. 15, an annual assessment must be submitted that shows adequate progress. For grades 5 and below, reading, language arts and math must be assessed. For grades 6 and above, social studies and science must also be assessed.
Parents must annually submit a Competent Private Instruction (CPI) form (2 copies) to the school board secretary.
File the CPI form by August 26. If moving into the state or initiating homeschooling after the school year has begun, submit a form that is at least partially completed within 14 calendar days and a fully completed form within 30 days.
The CPI form requires the following information:
Name and age of the child
The number of days of instruction (must be at least 148)
Textbooks and material that will be used
The name and address of the instructor
An outline of course of study: subjects covered, lesson plans, and time spent on the areas of study--there is no mandated minimum).
The CPI form also requires evidence of vaccinations (or medical or religious exemption) for children being home schooled for the first time. The form asks for birth dates, but this may be omitted since it is not required under law (Iowa Code Ann. ß 299.4).
The form contains an optional section which can be disregarded at the parentís discretion.
The Iowa Department of Educationís CPI Handbook requires all children under the age of 6 to have a blood lead test. Compliance with this requirement will be verified for children enrolling in kindergarten and children under the age of 6 for whom a Competent Private Instruction report form is filed. This will be done by matching the names of these children with the Iowa Department of Health's blood lead database.
When filling out the CPI form, parents must choose whether they will homeschool under the supervising teacher (ST) option or the annual assessment option. If the former, you must identify the person (including the folder number) who will be the ST.
Exception: if the child is age 6 as of Sept. 15, neither an ST nor any type of annual assessment is needed.
The school district will treat the information given on the CPI application as public information each time you file the form unless you give clear written instructions to the school district. It is recommended to use the privacy notification form.
Parents that plan to use the supervising teacher (ST) Option must file the CPI form but will not need to submit a year-end assessment. However, parents will need to cooperate with the ST that is chosen. This will generally involve consulting and advising. The ST must contact the student twice each 45 days of instruction, one of which contact must be face to face. The ST must provide formal and informal assessments and keep a record of contacts and assistance provided.
An ST can supervise for students in grades K-6 with an elementary classroom license,.
An ST can supervise for students 5-8 with a middle school license.
An ST can supervise for students 7-12 with a secondary classroom license
An ST can supervise for any grade with a substitute license.
An ST can supervise for grades 5-12 with a substitute authorization.
A parent with an appropriate license can be their own ST.
Students with special needs are required to obtain approval if a family intends to seek special education benefits, services or evaluations from the public school system.
Teacher Qualifications: There are no teacher qualifications except supervising teachers.
Standardized Tests: If under the supervising teacher option, none. If under the annual assessment option, assessments are required beginning the year the child is 7 on Sept. 15 (or their first year of homeschooling, if older). This first assessment is considered the baseline assessment, and it is not required that progress be shown or any particular result be obtained. It is simply used as a point from which to measure future progress.
Beginning with the year the student is age 8 on Sept. 15, an annual assessment must be submitted that shows adequate progress.
For grades 5 and below, reading, language arts and math subjects must be assessed. For grades 6 and above, social studies and science must also be assessed.
The assessment must be conducted by May 1 and submitted to the school system by June 30. Any results that are not required under law may be redacted before submitting. A copy or original may be submitted.
Parents are not required to indicate in advance to their school system what type of assessment they will use.