Hawaii Homeschool Attendance Ages: Students that are between the ages of 6 to 17 years old are required to attend school in Hawaii. Students that are 18 years old by January 1 in the upcoming school year are not eligible for homeschooling.
Hawaii Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: None.
Hawaii Homeschool Required Subjects: Curriculum must be structured and based on educational objectives as well as the needs of the child, be cumulative and sequential, provide a range of up-to-date knowledge and needed skills, and take into account the interests, needs, and abilities of the child.
Elementary: may include” language arts, math, social studies, science, art, music, health, and physical education.
Secondary: may include social studies, English, mathematics, science, health, physical education, and guidance.
Parents are not required to submit their homeschool curriculum to the DOE or the school of record for review unless the school has reasonable cause to believe that there may be educational neglect. A parent is responsible for keeping a record of the planned curriculum for the child.
The curriculum must be structured and based on educational objectives as well as the needs of the child, be cumulative and sequential,, provide a range of up-to-date knowledge and needed skills, and take into account the interests, needs, and abilities of the child. A principal at the school of record may request to view the curriculum if the annual report is not sufficient to show satisfactory progress.
Home School Statute:
Parents/students interested in homeschool have two options:
Option 1: A child is exempt if notification of intent to home school has been submitted to the principal of the public school which the child would otherwise be required to attend in accordance with Department of Education laws and guidelines.
a. Parents must provide a notice of intent to home educate before initiating home schooling. The notice of intent may be submitted on a department developed form or in a letter containing the following items: name, address, telephone number, birth date, and grade level of the child and the parent’s signature. Parents may also decide to use Form OCISS 4140 which can be used in place of the letter of intent.
The school and complex area office acknowledge the notice of intent submitted by the parents by sending the parents a copy of the form OCISS 4140 after it is signed by the principal and complex area superintendent; or writing “acknowledged” on the bottom of the parent’s letter of notification with the signature of the principal and complex area superintendent, and returning the letter to the parent. Copies of form OCISS 4140 or the letter of intent are kept on file at the school and district office.
Form OCISS 4140 or a letter of intent does not need to be submitted annually. The only
time a new form OCISS 4140 or a new letter of intent to homeschool needs to submitted
again is when the child transitions from elementary to intermediate/middle school or
intermediate/middle school to high school, or if the child moves to another neighborhood.
b. Enrollment in a private school’s home study program may not be considered the same as attendance at a private school.
c. A parent teaching the parent’s child at home shall be deemed a qualified instructor.
d. Parents must keep a record of the planned curriculum which must include the commencement date and ending date of the program, number of hours per week of instruction, subjects to be covered, method used to determine mastery of materials and subjects in the curriculum, and a list of textbooks or other instructional materials. This list must be in standard bibliographical format.
e. The parent shall notify the principal if home schooling is terminated. A child shall be re-enrolled in the local public school or licensed private school unless a new alternative educational program is presented within five school days after the termination of home schooling.
Option 2: A child is exempt from compulsory attendance when enrolled in an appropriate alternative educational program as approved by the superintendent.
Teacher Qualifications: None for parents under Option 1 above, but instructors under Option 2 must have a bachelor’s degree.
Standardized Tests: At the end of each school year an “annual report of child’s progress” must be submitted to the local principal. This report may comprise one of the following:
1. The student’s score on a nationally-normed standardized achievement test which demonstrates grade level achievement appropriate to a child’s age.
2. Progress on a nationally-normed standardized test that is equivalent to one grade level per calendar year.
3. A written evaluation by a teacher certified in Hawaii
4. A written evaluation by the parent (grades, tests, assignments or results of statewide testing program may be submitted) which demonstrates progress.
In grades 3, 5, 8 and 10, children must take a criterion or norm-referenced standardized achievement test of the parent’s choice in lieu of the annual progress report.
Educational neglect charges cannot be based on the refusal of parents to comply with any requests by public school officials that exceed the requirements of the Hawaiian homeschool laws.
Schools are responsible for informing parents what basic units of study should be covered
for a particular grade level. Information on the standards and benchmarks for each grade
level can be found at the Hawaii DOE website