Georgia Homeschool


Georgia Homeschool Attendance Ages: Students between their 6th and 16th birthdays are
required to attend school in Georgia. However, if a child is under 7 and has attended more than 20 days in a Georgia public school, he is subject to the compulsory attendance laws.

Georgia Homeschool Days of Instruction:
180 days.

Georgia Homeschool Required Subjects:
A basic academic educational program that includes, but is not limited to, reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science.

Georgia Home School Statute:


1. Parents must submit a declaration of intent to home study to the local superintendent within 30 days after the establishment of the home study program and by Sept. 1 every year thereafter. This declaration must include the names and ages of students, the location of the home school, and the time the parents designate as their school year.

2. The home school must provide a basic academic educational program.

3. Each school day must consist of four and one-half hours.  The homeschool does not have to have specific hours of operation, since the law only requires the program to operate the equivalent of 180 days or at least 4.5 (four and one-half) hours of instruction per day unless the child is physically unable to comply with this requirement.

4. Attendance records must be kept and submitted to the superintendent each month. The records will not be used for any purpose except providing necessary attendance information.

5. Parent must write an annual progress report for each child in the required subjects and retain it for three years.

6. Parents or guardians may teach only their own children in the home study program, but the parents or guardians may employ a tutor who holds at least a high school diploma or a GED equivalency diploma to teach such children.

7. According to the Attorney General of Georgia, the local superintendent does not have the authority to require parents to affirmatively produce evidence of their continuing compliance with the law in the operation of home study programs or require the production of documents. Although the superintendent has the authority to “request” such materials, he cannot require parents to submit them.
Teacher Qualifications: The “teaching parent” or tutor must have at least a high school diploma or a GED diploma.

Standardized Tests: Children must take a nationally standardized achievement test every three years beginning at the end of the third grade. The test must be administered in consultation with a person trained in the administration and interpretation of norm reference tests. Since science and social studies are required subjects and the testing is required to evaluate the student’s educational progress.

The homeschool curriculum program must provide a basic academic educational program which includes (but is not limited to) instruction in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies and science.

Students interested in transferring to high school from homeschool are requested to test for correct grade placement or the school may accept the school records to place for a probationary period of at least one grading period to see if the student is successful.
HS DIPLOMA
HSDiploma.com