Connecticut Homeschool


Homeschool age requirements: Students between the age of 5 and under 18
required to attend school, unless the student already has a high school diploma.  Parents may elect not to send a 5 or 6 year old child to school by personally appearing at the school district office and signing an option form.

Required Homeschool Days of Instruction: None.

Required Homeschool Subjects: Reading, writing, spelling, English grammar, geography, arithmetic, United States history, and citizenship, including a study of the town, state, and federal governments.

A home school may operate if the parent is able to show that the child is elsewhere receiving equivalent instruction in the studies taught in the public schools.

Within 10 days of the start of a home instruction program, parents must file a “Notice of Intent” form with the local superintendent  This form must include  the name of the teacher, subjects taught, days of instruction, and the teacher’s method of assessment.

By filing a notice of intent, the parent acknowledges full responsibility for the education of their child in accordance with the requirements of state law.

Teacher Qualifications: None.

Standardized Tests: A standardized test is not required. But an annual portfolio review will be held with the parents and school officials to determine if instruction in the required courses has been given.
Suggested Procedures for Home Instruction

Connecticut parents interested in providing homeschool for their children should take the below steps necessary to successfully enroll their children into a homeschool program.

A. Parents must file with the superintendent a, “State Department of Education developed notice of inten,”t form which provides basic information about the program to be provided to their child.

B. Filing must occur within ten days of the start of the home instruction program.

C. The school district will receive the notice of intent, check it for completeness and keep it as part of the district's permanent records. A complete form will be one which provides basic program information including name of teacher, subjects to be taught and days of instruction, and the teacher's method of assessment.

D. A parent, by filing the notice of intent, acknowledges full responsibility for the education of their child in accordance with the requirements of state law. Receipt of a notice of intent in no way constitutes approval by a school district of the content or effectiveness of a program of home instruction

E. If a parent fails to file a notice of intent or files an incomplete form then a certified letter shall be sent to the parent requesting compliance within ten days.

F. An annual portfolio review will be held with the parents and school officials to determine if instruction in the required courses has been given.

G. Any continued refusal by the parent to comply with the reasonable request of the school district for completion and filing of the notice of intent, or to participate in an annual portfolio review, may cause the child to be considered truant.

H. A school district should not accept nor require a notice of intent for any child younger than seven years or older than sixteen years.

I. The school district will record the number of students instructed at home on the appropriate form issued by the State Department of Education.
Students that complete their homeschool program are eligible to take the GED exam.  The GED is a high school diploma equivalent and is recognized by many colleges, trade schools, and employers as a high school diploma.  An accredited high school diploma is not distributed to teens that complete a homeschool program, since the student does not actual attend a public high school. 







Privacy Policy
HS DIPLOMA
HSDiploma.com